Eric Comrie Honored as 2014 Playoff MVP

Kennewick, WA – Tri-City Americans Governor/General Manager announced today that 18-year-old goaltender Eric Comrie has been named the team’s 2014 Playoff Most Valuable Player.  Comrie becomes the first goaltender to earn the award since Chet Pickard in 2008 and just the third goaltender in the franchise’s history to earn the nomination.

The 6’1, 170-pound netminder from Edmonton, Alberta appeared in all five of Tri-City’s playoff games this season, collecting a 3.46 goals against average and a 0.917 save percentage, including an incredible 52-save performance in Game 3 to pick-up his first post-season win, while leading Tri-City back to the post-season for an 11th consecutive season.  Also named the Americans’ regular season MVP, Comrie finished the regular season as the only WHL goaltender to finish in the top-2 in both overall Saves (1,849) and Save Percentage (0.925), while also setting the Americans’ single-season franchise saves record in the process.  The Winnipeg Jets’ 2013 2nd Round (59th overall) draft selection, Comrie is currently playing with their American Hockey League affiliate, the St. John’s IceCaps, as they compete for a spot in the 2014 Calder Cup Playoffs.

“Eric was our leader throughout the season, and took the team on his shoulders in the post-season,” explained Tory.  “His commitment and his pursuit of excellence helped lead our team to a strong performance against Kelowna.”

The Americans are pleased to announce that 2014-2015 Season Tickets are now on sale!  Enjoy the best seats – and the best rates – in the Toyota Center!  And, ask about our brand new Complete Season Plan, featuring tickets to every home game, from pre-season to post-season, all for one low monthly payment!  Call (509) 736-0606, visit or drop by the Americans offices’ at the bottom level of the Toyota Center for more information.

All-Time Americans Playoff MVP Winners:
2014: Eric Comrie
2013: Drydn Dow
2012: Brendan Shinnimin
2011: Brendan Shinnimin
2010: Kruise Reddick
2009: Mitch Fadden
2008: Chet Pickard
2007: Colton Yellow Horn
2006: Logan Stephenson
2005: Ian McDonald, Andy Thompson
2004: Shawn Belle, Clayton Stoner
2003: Did not make the playoffs
2002: Tyler Weiman
2001: Did not make the playoffs
2000: Darrell Hay
1999: Scott Gomez
1998: Did not make the playoffs
1997: Did not make the playoffs
1996: Daymond Langkow
1995: Daymond Langkow, Terry Ryan
1994: Daymond Langkow
1993: Todd Klassen
1992: Bill Lindsay
1991: Terry Degner
1990: Stu Barnes
1989: Stu Barnes

More News
Brian Pellerin helping Team BC U16 gear up for Western Canada Challenge Cup
3 days ago
Bob Tory sits down with WHL Unfiltered
3 days ago
SWX: Path to the Draft
2 weeks ago
Americans Hire Eli Wilson as Goaltending Coach
3 weeks ago
Americans Trade Seth Bafaro
3 weeks ago
Americans Draft Duo in Annual CHL Euro Draft
4 weeks ago