SASKATOON (CIS) – Liam Heelis, a third-year forward from Acadia University, was named the CIS player of the year in men’s hockey, Wednesday night.

The Georgetown, Ont., native became the second Axemen player in three seasons and the fourth in program history to claim the Senator Joseph A. Sullivan Trophy. He follows in the footsteps of forwards Andrew Clark (2012), Kevin Baker (2006) and Duane Dennis (1994).

Other winners announced during the SaskTel All-Canadian Presentation at TCU Place in Saskatoon were McGill rearguard Ryan McKiernan, who was named CIS defenceman of the year; Calgary netminder Jacob DeSerres, selected as the country’s best goaltender; Queen’s goalie Kevin Bailie, who received the Clare Drake Award as rookie of the year; UNB forward Chris Culligan, who claimed the R.W. Pugh Award as the nation’s most sportsmanlike player; Queen’s head coach Brett Gibson, who captured the Father George Kehoe Memorial Award; and Alberta forward Ben Lindemulder, who merited the Dr. Randy Gregg Award recognizing his excellence in hockey, academics and community involvement.

The PotashCorp University Cup presented by Co-op gets under way on Thursday at the Credit Union Centre and culminates Sunday at 1:30 p.m. Local Time (3:30 p.m. Eastern) with the gold-medal final, live on Sportsnet.

Sportsnet also has live coverage of the last two contests of the preliminary round, Saturday at 2 p.m. and 7 p.m., on Sportsnet 360. All seven games from the six-team tournament will also be webcast live on


GOALTENDER OF THE YEAR: Jacob DeSerres, Calgary

DeSerres follows in the footsteps of former teammate Dustin Butler and becomes the fifth-straight Canada West puck stopper to win the CIS goaltender of the year award since it was first presented in 2010. 

DeSerres, a third-year arts student, played 17 conference games for the Dinos, allowing just 35 goals for a 2.15 goals-against average. He finished the year with a sparkling 13-2-2 record, a .914 save percentage and a trio of shutouts. The Calgary native’s 13 wins were the second-highest by a goaltender in the Canada West regular season, while his goals-against average and save percentage both ranked third.

The six-foot-two, 190-pound goalie, who backstopped Saint John to the 2011 Memorial Cup title, was the Canada West-WHL Graduate of the Month for November 2013 when he went 5-0-1 with a 0.67 goals-against average and three shutouts.

“Jake is very deserving of this award,” said Calgary head coach Mark Howell. “He has been consistent from start to finish this year, has played tremendous hockey and helped us win games. He has been a leader and one of the best goaltenders in the league, and it’s fitting that he receives this recognition.”

The other nominees for top-goalie honours were Evan Mosher of Acadia and Kevin Bailie of Queen’s.


The all-Canadian teams were also announced on Wednesday.

Joining Heelis, McKiernan and DeSerres on the first squad were Alberta defenceman Jordan Rowley (Kamloops Blazers, Prince Albert Raiders) and forwards Derek Hulak (Saskatoon Blades, Regina Pats) of Saskatchewan and Zach Harnden of Western.

Hulak, who finished first in Canada West and second in the CIS scoring race in league play with a 13-35-48 mark, was also a first-team all-Canadian back in 2011-12. Harnden, the CIS rookie of the year in ’11-12, was ninth in the nation with an 18-23-41 dossier.

In addition to Culligan, the second dream unit for the season is comprised of Acadia goalie Evan Mosher, UPEI’s Reginaldo Traccitto and Guelph’s Kenneth Peroff on the blue line, as well as forwards James Wise of Ryerson and Sean Ringrose (Medicine Hat Tigers) of Alberta.

Joining Bailie on the CIS all-rookie squad were UNB’s Jordan Murray and Calgary’s Drydn Dow (Tri-City Americans) on defence, as well as UNB’s Philippe Maillet, Calgary’s Christopher Collins and Ryerson’s Domenic Alberga on offence.


Senator Joseph A. Sullivan Trophy (player of the year): Liam Heelis, Acadia
Defenceman of the year: Ryan McKiernan, McGill
Goaltender of the year: Jacob DeSerres, Calgary
Clare Drake Award (rookie of the year): Kevin Bailie, Queen’s
R.W. Pugh Award (most sportsmanlike player): Chris Culligan, UNB
Father George Kehoe Memorial Award (coach of the year): Brett Gibson, Queen’s
Dr. Randy Gregg Award (hockey, academics & community service): Ben Lindemulder, Alberta

First Team

Pos.     Athlete                        University       Year    Hometown                  Faculty

G         Jacon DeSerres            Calgary            3          Calgary, Alta.               Arts
D         Ryan McKiernan         McGill             4          White Plains, NY         Finance
D         Jordan Rowley             Alberta             3          Edmonton, Alta.          Business
F          Liam Heelis                 Acadia             3          Georgetown, Ont.        Arts
F          Derek Hulak                Saskatchewan  4          Saskatoon, Sask.          Business
F          Zach Harnden              Western           3          Thunder Bay, Ont.       Business

Second Team

G         Evan Mosher               Acadia             3          Conception Bay South, Nfld.  Arts
D         Reginaldo Traccitto      UPEI                4          Oakville, Ont.              Arts
D         Kenneth Peroff            Guelph             4          Astorville, Ont.            Geography
F          Chris Culligan              UNB                5          Howie Centre, N.S.      Rec. in Sports Science
F          James Wise                  Ryerson           2          Stouffville, Ont.           Arts
F          Sean Ringrose              Alberta             5          Edmonton, Alta.          PE & Recreation

All-Rookie Team

G         Kevin Bailie                 Queen’s           1          Belleville, Ont.             Arts & Science
D         Jordan Murray             UNB                1          Riverview, N.B.           Kinesiology
D         Dryden Dow                Calgary            1          Calgary, Alta.               Arts
F          Philippe Maillet            UNB                1          Terrebonne, Que.         UGND
F          Christopher Collins      Calgary            1          Calgary, Alta.               Arts
F          Domenic Alberga         Ryerson           1          Maple, Ont.                  Non Cert. Program

About Canadian Interuniversity Sport

Canadian Interuniversity Sport is the national governing body of university sport in Canada. Every year, 11,000 student-athletes and 700 coaches from 55 universities and four regional associations vie for 21 national championships in 12 different sports. CIS also provides high performance international opportunities for Canadian student-athletes at Winter and Summer Universiades, as well as numerous world university championships. For further information, visit or follow us on:


More News
Young talent and grit pushes the Ams to OT, but can't pick up win
13 hours ago
Ams vs Wheat Kings Highlights 1.19
2 days ago
Gesa Check of the Night 1.19
2 days ago
Americans hang on to win in OT with hat trick by Topping
2 days ago
Americans claw back but fall in OT
4 days ago
Ams vs Broncos Highlights 1.17
4 days ago